New here - I finally quit!

Hello there,

I am new to this site, I found it today when I experienced a rather tough craving or moment of wilting willpower. I stumbled on a post from someone that sounded eerily familiar to myself, trying over and over to quit to no avail. My heart told me that this person was doing the same thing I have been doing forever now, and that's building it up to something so big that the mission is doomed from the start. It's not that tough, it's not easy but not as big as some of us make it out to be. How do you eat an elephant? Yep - one bite at a time.

I am a newbie to the non-smoking world (almost 6 days now) but do beleive that I am here to stay, despite my slow learning and quick forgetting days. I quit on 6-18-14 at 2am in the morning; so basically I went to bed a smoker on 6-17-14 and woke up a non-smoker on 6-18-14.

My daughter will be 4 on August 5th, that's pretty neat - it took many years and happened late in life but God blessed me with a dandy! I have the baby they said I could never have, and actually tried to convince me to concede to a D&C since my body wasn't discarding the "miscarriage". She  is 100% healthy (and beautiful and smart). What is not so neat is that two weeks before her second birthday, on July 15, 2012, I buried her daddy - my husband of ten years. He died of cancer, from Mesothelioma and smoking. He tried to quit several times too but smoked up until he was too weak to smoke.