New Here/ TRying to quit

Im new here. Ive been smoking for about 38 years.  Ive been a 2 pack a day person for a long time as well. Now I have cut down to about 9 cigs. a day. Im having problems getting beyond this. Ive been working at this for aboiut 3 months now. My partner doesnt really understand, he thinks I should just be able to quit,  just like that.    

Im tierd of sneaking around corners and knowing he can smell smoke on me anyways. I also know that quitting is something I have to do for myself and not anybody else.

I get anxiety attacks and want to smoke.  Im pretty sure this is one of my triggers. Pychologically  as far as  I can tell my reasons for wanting to smoke go much deeper.   If I feel vulnerable,  I want to smoke. It's a coping mechanism obviously.  I need advise on how to find other coping skills to depend on instead of smoking.  Like I said Im a newbie.  I need all the advise I can get.  and friends going through the same thing.      Thank you     

• Like 6

Hi Ariel and welcome aboard! Do you think you are ready to quit the rest now? I think most smokers feel anxiety or withdraw feelings when they quit. Nicotine is a very powerful drug. When I quit, I learned the coping skills as I lived as a new nonsmoker day by day. You don't need to do learn the skills before you quit. I smoked for 30 years.

• Like 2

Welcome to the QT Ariel :) Have you checked out the Newbie Database? http://www.quittrain.com/topic/11-how-do-i-quit-smoking-the-newbie-database/

Please don't skip over the link titled gradual withdrawal for your worst enemy. Also smoking causes anxiety, it doesn't relieve it. There are lots of coping methods to combat anxiety, exercise for one.

Quitting smoking is not something that can be done overnight, it is a journey and is not always going to be easy. However, if you trust in the journey then it will be easier than you thought possible.

• Like 5