newbie here

Hello everyone, thank you in advance for any support :)

I'm 34, been smoking over 20 years. Lost count of quit attempts, some lasted a year or more but I always come back to it :( I don't know why!

My mother is 55 and suffering from emphysema, and still smoking. Seeing this makes me seriously fear the future and I want to quit for good so badly.

Nearly all of my family, friends and co-workers smoke and are very unsupportive of my quit attempts. (I know they are not to blame, and this is my issue that I let them influence me.) But I am not able to cut them out of my life and their constant snarky comments about me quitting, and being always surrounded by smoke, really drag me down and I feel I just can't escape it.

I am in serious need of support and encouragement from other "quitters." I always feel extremely alone in my attempts to get healthy. Any tips, advice, kind words, help of any kind are appreciated. Thank you all for being here!

• Like 3

Welcome aboard Brandy.

We worry ourselves unnecessarily about quitting only to find that in a relatively short time the only regret we have about making the commitment to quit is that we didn't do it sooner.  It's a challenge, but a worthwhile challenge.  Withdrawal symptoms go away, they always do.  Every time you resist the urge to light a cigarette, you are creating new pathways in your brain.  Eventually, nicotine addiction loses its voice.

Freedom from nicotine is attainable.  Education about nicotine addiction allows you to dispel the myths and lies of the cigarette.  Information and support are readily available here at QT.