Hello everyone, it's great to be on here with others going through the same internal struggle.  I am a mostly healthy 33 year old man.  I've been smoking half a pack a day of light cigarettes for 14 years now (started the end of 2003). For many years I found it so hard to quit when all my friends (or girlfriends) always smoked. Now i am divorced, but have continued smoking due to my bad anxiety disorder. I have even been told by doctors that I shouldn't quit smoking till I got my anxiety under control as they said I wouldn't succeed :(  

I have always made so many excuses to not quit, but this past winter I have realized I have some form of asthma or respiratory disorder, as ive been need8ng inhalers some days, and need a vaporizer on to sleep. I know at my age my chances for a long, healthy life are very good still. I just know I have to do this. My anxiety always tries to make me think I'm dying everytime I get respiratory infections. Since November ive had over 4 or 5 serious  bouts. I've even had to cut out all dairy as its made my repository issues worse. I haven't seriousdly tried to quit since 2007.  The biggest issue I always have is my bad anxieties. They make it feel like an impossibility. My anxieties are also why I'm quitting as im terribly afraid of an early death as well.

I apologize about my rant, just wanted to let you know about my journey towards becoming a non smoker.  Any support is greatly appreciated. Thank you to all on here :)

• Like 7

Hi Doug1984, you have made a wise decision to quit, continuing to smoke will only make your respiratory issues that much worse!!  Read as much as you can here on the forums and join in.  PS. No such thing as a "light" cigarette! ;)

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1