Hello

georgen

My name is George. I have been smoking on and off for 40 years. I did stop smoking for 5 years, but started again when my mother died.

I smoke secretly, as my wife and family don't know I started again.

I have a number of health problems, none of them directly related to smoking, but it does play a part in slowing down healing and preventing me from healing completely.  I have knee problems and if I don't stop smoking and reinjure myself, I could wind up on crutches permanently . I also have bad tendonitis in one elbow and the lack of blood flow due to smoking means that this is not getting better. If that remains the case, I wouldn't be able to use crutches and could wind up in a chair or on a frame.

I have overcome other addictions earlier in life, but have never done anything successfully without group support.

I don't feel able to quit alone and keep putting off my quit.

So, here I am.

• Like 5

Welcome to the Quit Train georgen :) You have made the right decision to quit smoking and from the sounds of your situation, there is no choice really - you MUST quit smoking. One of our members here (Doreen) will I'm sure have some information for you on how smoking can negatively effect your circulation. It's a real threat, not just cancer and what not.

Having a good support group is vital. I found that out myself just by joining this one. You won't find a better group to support you through your quit but of course, YOU are the main attraction here and will have to do the heavy lifting yourself. Just commit to getting this done, do the hard work and we will support you and cheer you on :) Oh and georgen, your family knows you're smoking. I would bet on it. You can try but it's virtually impossible to mask that smell. Think about maybe including them in the support effort. I'm sure they would love to. Looking forward to sharing your journey to freedom!

• Like 4

Hi George...

So glad you found us..